Learning a New Normal

I know, I know, I haven’t posted in like 6 months. I’ve been wanting to write about everything food related, but I’ve been struggling with learning a new normal. In September 2015, I was diagnosed with Non-alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease. Most people who have NAFLD don’t realize they even have it; sadly it’s more common than people realize. However, my body showed symptoms- pain in my upper right side (just under my ribs), and constant sick feeling in my stomach- and luckily, my doctors were able to catch things before they got much worse.

The diagnosis, though, changed everything about how I ate and what I ate. Changed it so drastically, that I seriously had no idea what to do. I had to cut out refined sugars, completely, so there went my pop addiction. I had to cut out refined flours, somewhat and go gluten free when I can. And any deep fried, heavy comfort foods? Forget it! Not allowed. UGH!! I cried. Everything was happening so fast, and I was overwhelmed, frustrated, and angry. I felt not only like I didn’t have anything to eat (because let’s face it, I ate like a garbage disposal and was now required to eat healthy food), but I also felt as if everything I loved to eat hurt me.

So, since September, I’ve struggled to find a new normal with food. I had to go from the diet of an unsupervised child in a candy factory, to one more clean and health conscious. I worried (and still worry) that if I falter to often I will cause more damage. Changing everything I know made it hard to figure out what to write about on a blog about food. But…I think I am finally ready to share my stories and experiences about this new chapter in my life.

Since I started changing my eating habits, I’ve explored new foods (mainly veggies) I never would have thought to try before. And, on the plus side, I’ve also lost nearly 50 pounds! The last 5 months have been tough, filled with many missteps, but I feel so much better. The healthier options give me more energy, and the pains in my right side are gone. I no longer feel so sick and weak. I feel stronger. I like stronger; I like how it feels. 🙂 And, I am excited to share stronger and healthier with you.

Leave a comment